Mermaids` Makings

Pumpkin Seed Vase

I made this vase for my son`s teacher about 15 years ago. Then  I used a lot smaller jar (paint for the children was sold in little glass jars) and I made a tissue paper rose to put in it. It turned out very sweet. So I thought to make one again. This time I didn`t make it by myself. I had a little helper.

We took an empty glass jar, an old piece of playdough (a good way of using up the mixed playdough) and lots of pumpkin seeds. We covered the jar with playdough and started to place the little seeds onto it. After that I coverd the vase in Mod Podge. It still hasn`t dried properly.. maybe I should have waited until the playdough was dry?

Anyway- here it is.

And these adorable  flowers… mmmm… just click this link :)

This vase is made specially for:

4 comments on “Pumpkin Seed Vase

  1. Helen
    November 2, 2010

    Love the flowers – very sweet.

    My daughter was desperate to make pumpkin soup – we spent two days roasting, scooping, chopping, cooking…and after all that she had one little lick and didn’t like it!! (My husband and I loved it!)

    • mermaid
      November 2, 2010

      I think my daughter wouldn`t even try the soup. But I`m sure I will love it.

  2. creativejewishmom/Sara
    November 1, 2010

    This is so interesting because I just made pumpkin soup from a piece of Israeli pumpkin (which is giant, and sold in pieces…either cut off from the entire thing at the vegetable stand, or sold pre-wrapped) which had seeds but not enough to consider roasting. I thought to myself, a crafter like me needs to save these for some craft project, and here you have it! Love the little pom-poms too, thanks for the link, and for sharing on Craft schooling Sunday! Your porcupine was a big hit last week! All the best!

    • mermaid
      November 1, 2010

      Thank you, Sara!

      And thanks to my post I learnt what the difference is between a hedgehog and a porcupine :)

      I have never tried pumpkin soup. In Estonia we make pickled pumpkin.. it`s very popluar at Christmas. But I like to eat it all year round. I should try pumpkin soup one day as well.

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2010 by in Uncategorized and tagged .

Categories

Archives

November 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other subscribers
Featured on The Crafty Crow!
Photobucket