Mermaids` Makings

Exploring Spices

Around the World in 12 Dishes is exploring India this month!

I love Indian food but I haven`t cooked it often. There are lots of Indian takeaways around us so we occasionally treat ourselves to some. And to be honest I have always thought Indian food is way too complicated to prepare.

Ok.. but which dish to cook?

The list of delicious Indian food is so looooooooooooooong!

So I chose the easy option- I contacted my lovely friend in Estonia who happens to have an indian friend..- complicated, ha :D Anyway she suggested  Chole, Bhatura and Kheer. I love these names!!!

And I must say the choice was very  good. I found the Chole (Chickpea Curry) recipe from here. For making Bhatura we used this recipe. I don`t know why I thought they should be round shaped (hehee..), so the first ones look like balls but then I discovered they should look like flat bread. And they tasted very nice! It was my first time (I did not let my daughter near it) trying anything deep fat fried.  And finally a lovely rice pudding- Kheer!

And we had LOTS of fun discovering, smelling, tasting new spices!

My daughter  made a little tally “What is your favourite spice?” She asked all her teddies and us of course and here is the result. The most popular spice in our household seems to be Cardamom.

We also made a little guessing game by hiding the spices in empty Kinder Surprise eggs. I wrote the numbers underneath so they would be easier to identify. All you do is open the egg and try to identify the spices by looking and smelling them.

We are going to challenge our grandparents this weekend :D

***

Linking this post up to. “Around the World in 12 Dishes“,

7 comments on “Exploring Spices

  1. Ladygardenia
    June 10, 2012

    I have nominated your blog for The Reader Appreciation Award! See details below the post “Reader appreciation award” at http://ladygardenia.wordpress.com. I look forward to continue reading your wonderful blog!

  2. pam
    June 9, 2012

    This is such a great idea to create awareness of other cultures in the world. And you know that is a very important subject for me. I appreciate you sharing your cooking adventures and discoveries here so that in my own small way I can join in. I can smell the Indian dishes from here!

    PS I have a wonderful recipe for Biryani and a not hot version of Port Vindaloo if you would like me to send them. xo

    • mermaid
      June 14, 2012

      Yes, please, send me the recipes!

  3. Emma @mummymummymum
    June 5, 2012

    I love how you hid the spices! What a great idea. xx

  4. Valerie @ glitteringmuffins.com
    June 5, 2012

    Nice game (egg game) :) Thanks for sharing!

  5. Ladygardenia
    June 4, 2012

    I love Indian food and I think I have tried all of those, what you cooked, just named differently in Bangladesh…. but not sure…

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2012 by in challenges, food and tagged .

Categories

Archives

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Featured on The Crafty Crow!
Photobucket
