Mermaids` Makings

Three ways to reuse old Christmas cards

So we had a pile of last year`s Christmas cards. From my daughter`s classmate`s cards I made a bunting to decorate the living room. Now we have two buntings- another one is made from the year before’s cards. It`s actually quite interesting to play a guessing game- who has given which card ( I have written the name of the sender on the back).

From the second lot I made some story cards. These are the ones from our family members and friends.  I cut them apart and glued them together so you can see the writing as well. I then laminated them. It`s very interesting to make up your own story as you pick up the cards.

And from another couple of cards I made some gift tags. These are the corporate XMAS cards – from the phone company, electricity providers etc. I wasn’t worried about cutting them up to reuse as they are nice and shiny at least.

Any handmade cards and cards from my Estonian friends I just keep in a “treasure box” (the Estonian tradition is to write a nice poem or something special in the card) as so much effort has gone into making them in the first place.

4 comments on “Three ways to reuse old Christmas cards

  1. pam
    December 2, 2011

    It is nice to see that Christmas cards are saved and enjoyed at your house. Photo cards have become so popular in this country – I miss so much the beautiful cards I used to receive. i have kept so many and I, like you, put them up to enjoy every year!

    Happy Holidays.

    • mermaid
      December 2, 2011

      Luckliy they have never really caught on in England, although they are becoming increasingly popular in Estonia.

      I like getting the old fashioned cards too, but some photos are nice too, so for some people, I just add a family photo to go with the card.

  2. SakuSka
    November 29, 2011

    see on väga hea mõte, teen ise ka sel aastal midagi sellist, ma arvan!
    kas teil toad juba jõulurüüs? :P

    • mermaid
      November 30, 2011

      Ei ole veel.. aga tasapisi saavad :)

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2011 by in Christmas and tagged , .

Categories

Archives

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Featured on The Crafty Crow!
Photobucket
