Mermaids` Makings

Our Christmas Calendar

This is actually our first Christmas Calendar. I did not have advent calendars  in my childhood. For my son I used to buy the one filled with chocolates.. but you know what happened.. don`t you.. That`s right- he ate all the chocs in one night. So for Annabel I didn`t get any chocolate ones.

But now we have our very own calendar.  It was very easy to make. For the pockets we used loo rolls cut in half. I covered them in green paper and Annabel made some nice white snow using sponge print. I added a little bit of blue later. At first we thought of using felt number stickers but they did not look nice so I asked my daughter to write the numbers. As they are learning “teen” numbers at school at the moment she was very happy to do it. I put a little bit of cotton into every pocket to make some snow. I wanted to put a  Päkapikk into every pocket as well.. but we did not have enough. And we don`t plan to go to Ikea next week.  This is where the Päkapikks are from. So I remembered my lovely little houses…

Each pocket contains a little chocolate and an activity. So after coming home from school my little one  will take off the decoration, eat the chocolate and then it`s time for the activity! I did not check which activity went where so it`s a surprise for me too. Hope we will have fun in December!

***

Shared with:

“Show and Tell” at “ABC and 123”

9 comments on “Our Christmas Calendar

  1. Kadri
    December 5, 2013

    Päkapikk can have translations as pixie or gnome, but they are Santa’s little helpers (you know the ones who work in his workshop and make the gifts). Good småll fellows and girls.

  2. pam
    January 5, 2011

    I love the idea of both a treat and an activity in each pocket. AND that the calendar was made using the ubiquitous “loo rolls”. The Päpapikks – Ikea – really? How did I miss them. My mom brought me some little figures back from Germany and they appear to be very similar.

    I am thinking I can use the felted balls Diane and I made last year from roving and add a head, a smile, a little red hat and I will have my very own Päpapikks!

    • mermaid
      January 8, 2011

      I love your passion for Päkapikks :)
      I needed to look up the word ubiquitous… hehee.. we learn something new every day dont`t we?

  3. Christie - Childhood 101
    December 6, 2010

    Simple and wonderful. Have fun with your activities :)

    Thank you for linking to We Play this week.

  4. Busy Brissy Mum
    December 3, 2010

    It looks like you will have a lovely fun filled December. Your Advent Calendar is wonderful!

  5. cathy@nurturestore
    December 2, 2010

    This is really beautiful and I hope you have a lovely December doing all of your activities.

  6. Silja
    November 29, 2010

    mulle meeldib ka see tegevuste siltide osa!

  7. lilla a
    November 27, 2010

    I like it, especially the activity bit. I will do the same when littlebrother gets older and can join in. This year its going to be small presents, every other day for each kid.

  8. Katrin
    November 27, 2010

    Väga lahe kalender :) Hästi armas!

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2010 by in Christmas and tagged , , , .

Categories

Archives

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Featured on The Crafty Crow!
Photobucket
