Mermaids` Makings

Valentines Cards with a Difference

Who says there have to be only  red and pink hearts on Valentines Day cards :)

I bought a birthday present for Annabel`s friend from Monsoon and got a lovely paper bag with it. It was so beautiful I couldn`t put it into our recycling bin. Instead I cut it apart and made four envelopes. As I used recycled material for the envelopes I wanted to make cards the same way. I looked around the house and found two empty cereal boxes. I thought just to cover the boxes with some scraps of paper but then I saw that one of the boxes had a cute picture on it. And I just added a little piece of ribbon and a few flowers cut out of a Early Learning Centre magazine using a punch. They would have been cool xmas cards really but are nice for Valentines Day as well. Aren`t they?  The card as the bottom is just covered with a piece of Monsoon bag and flower cut outs. I had to cover this one because there was only writing there. But the card is very cute, better in real  life than in the photo.

My favourite is the piggy card. I found this website and had to try at least one card straight away. And I know a person who loves pigs.. so I hope she will be happy :) This website is absolutely wonderful and it is very easy to make these pop- up cards. Piggy card idea is from here.  As the card was already nice and red on the  outside I did not cover it at all. I think it`s quite cute.. double decker Valentines buses. Although I needed to put a little piece of paper over it ecause it said on the cereal box- please recycle this card :D  So the next time I shop for cereal, I will only buy boxex with nice pictures on.

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2010 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Categories

Archives

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Featured on The Crafty Crow!
Photobucket
